Recap: 2016 Annual Meeting of Members

63rd Annual Meeting of Members Held on April 12, 2016

Freedom held its 63rd. Annual Meeting of Members on April 12 at the McFaul Center in Bel Air. To begin the evening, attendees received a small gift and mingled over refreshments.

Starting the meeting, cadets from the Maryland National Guard, Freestate ChalleNGe Academy presented the flag. This was followed by employee Jay Jones’ fantastic rendition of the national anthem. Who knew Freedom had such multi-talented employees?

In a Board of Directors overview, Mike Kaiser, Board Chair, briefly touched on the Credit Union’s annual report, “Belong To Something Special”, and reviewed last year’s activities. Mr. Kaiser also thanked members, volunteers and employees for contributing to the Credit Union’s success. Following Mr. Kaiser, Board Director George Heidelmaier, talked about 2015’s sponsorships, donations and employee volunteerism. Nick Pindale, a member of the Supervisory Committee, reported on the Credit Union’s financial condition. Additional Board members Ben Casole, Vice Chairman; Jim Church, Secretary; Tony Belcastro, Director; Ronnie Davis, Director; Lisa Ermatinger, Director; Rick Gerety, Treasurer; and Kirk Kinder, Director also participated.

In his keynote speech, Mike MacPherson, President/CEO, traced the history of Credit Unions to Germany in the mid-1800s. Mr. MacPherson noted Freedom continues to operate by the Credit Union principles of “People Helping People” and “Not-For-Profit, Not-For-Charity, But for Service.” After his presentation, Mr. MacPherson and Mr. Kaiser answered questions from members in attendance.

Following the business at hand, 12 door prize winners were chosen. Prizes consisted of gift cards, ranging from restaurants to Amazon online. In a nod to spring, prize recipients also took home small plants in cheerful ceramic pots.

Board Business Summary:

  • This year’s Nominating Committee slate of candidates for the Board of Directors was approved–Jim Church, Richard Gerety and Kirk Kinder were each re-elected to a three-year term.
  • Officers were appointed for the 2016/2017 year. Mike Kaiser returns as Chair. Richard Gerety will serve as Vice Chair. Jim Church will serve as Secretary and Tony Belcastro will serve as Treasurer.